It’s good to talk!

Meeting the people is not just for election times.  I have just spent a day out on the road, as I call it, where I have given all of my time exclusively to my constituents.  This is the best part of being a councillor as far as I am concerned and it is certainly the most rewarding.  Keeping in touch is vital in order to be as fully informed as possible with the issues of the moment and whilst face to face contact is the best way of doing this, phone calls and emails are also an important and necessary way of communication.

To give you a flavour of the day I am now better informed of the problems of living on a flood plain, which according to some in the insurance industry is a big problem for anyone living in the HA2 postcode which makes up about 90 per cent of my ward.  But by talking to a couple of residents, whose house incidentally is on high ground, who have been refused cover by their insurance company I now know that this situation affects many with no danger whatsoever of being submerged by flood water.  It seems there is a postcode lottery because another house just yards away which is in HA5 is not
affected.

I am also asking everyone I meet what they think of the idea of a community farm in Harrow.  City farms were pioneered in the inner cities to bring a bit of country life to the urban landscape.  There are dozens of them all over London with many occupying sites in the outer London Boroughs and now there are moves afoot to create such a project right here in Headstone North.  I hope very much that the brainchild of a handful of residents comes to fruition and I am honoured that they have asked me to assist them. Everyone I mention it to seems to warm to the idea and a number of people have enquired as to what they can contribute in order to make Harrow Community Farm come to life.

I spoke to 47 people in the nine and a half hours that were spent knocking on doors; many were expecting to hear back from me having been in touch over the past week or so, whilst others caught my attention while they were washing the car and tending to the garden.  I am not trying to portray myself as unique in that human contact is the sole preserve of an independent councillor because there are many party politicians who also make themselves available to their electorates and as a result they command the respect that they deserve.  But there are also far too many who are not seen or heard of from one election to the next.

I may not always get it right but I will never forget the people who entrusted me with the responsibility of representing them.  I intend to have many more days out on the road!

This entry was posted in Community Farm, Flood defence and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment