North Harrow deserves better than this

In my election address I quoted from an email that had been sent to me by a resident.  It is worth quoting again on here.  It said: “Let’s face it North Harrow has changed from a lovely little sector of Harrow into a disgraceful urban mess that I am totally ashamed of.  In the past I have volunteered for just about everything from the cubs to Neighbourhood Watch.  Now I have lost all interest in North Harrow.  Who can find enthusiasm for a dump?”

My email postbag in the two months I have been a councillor has largely echoed these sentiments and the views expressed have contrasted from the optimistic in that I am seen as the ‘new broom that will sweep away the past’, to a resignation from others that despite the good intentions, I, too will be beaten down by the civic centre red tape and a ‘we can’t do that’ attitude.

But to give up when the going gets tough is not the Bond way!  Yes, there will be setbacks and frustrations in the months and years ahead but I have the advantage of a head start in all of this: my late father, as many of you will know, was an Independent councillor for Pinner Ward.  His knowledge and experience of how the council does and doesn’t work has already prepared me for what lies ahead.

One of my current battles that I am pursuing on behalf of a resident of my ward perfectly illustrates why so many people are in a state of despair and have lost all interest in North Harrow.  My resident is also a local businessman.  He wants to expand his company from its current back office position to include the use of the front of a shop (which he already owns) but Harrow Council is refusing him permission because it says that it would
exceed the quota of premises in the town centre that are non-retail.

My resident has been fighting his battle with the planning department of the council for several years but the irony of this is that the council’s own policy for businesses on the high street already allows for a change of use from non-retail, even if it exceeds its designated quotas.   A government directive has been in place to help local economies but to date Harrow Council won’t exercise the flexibility that will allow a flourishing business to grow.  Instead 40% of North Harrow shop fronts remain boarded up contributing to the urban mess and run-down look that has plagued this part of the borough for far too long.

Next week I shall be at a meeting of the council’s planning department along with the resident concerned to attempt to have this unacceptable situation resolved.  I shall let you know how we get on.  As I said during the election campaign: North Harrow deserves better than this.  My resolve is strong, the fight back has begun!

This entry was posted in Business and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to North Harrow deserves better than this

  1. Ben Cotton says:

    Hey James,

    Welcome to the blogosphere! A great first post! As someone who has grown up in North Harrow, but more recently lived away at university, it has been awful to return and see the high street slowly deteriorating as increasing numbers of shops become boarded up. It’s a huge shame.

    I’m pleased you’ve raised the important point about Harrow Council refusing local business’ permission to use the shop fronts. This seems both idiotic and extremely short-sighted by the council. Surely, we would all like to see premises being used (even for non-retail purposes), rather than yet another boarded up eyesore?

    I look forward to hearing how you get on as a councillor and tackle the challenge of council bureaucracy.

    Cheers,

    Ben

    [Disclosure: I’ve helped James set up this WordPress blog and will continue to moderate it for the coming months.]

Leave a comment